Tuesday, December 27, 2011

The Bikerni-Why I Ride

People say," Women have no riding sense", 
" She's riding because she wants to prove something to someone",
"Must have no morals",
 "Let's trouble her and make her fall".
Family says, "You want to spoil your name and ours?What will our relatives say? That we have no control over our child?". 

Our Biking brothers sneer and say, "Hah!! You riding a bike? Poor bike, let's see how soon you gonna screw it up or yourself in a crash",
" You never gonna be a better rider than a guy",
 " Leave the riding to us, you are better off as pillion".
This is what women bikers get to hear and much more than this.
Let me tell you why we ride.
We ride not because we are rebels or have to prove something. 

We ride because the machine fascinates us as much as it does you. 
We grew up staring in awe at the big bikes roaring by too.
We ride because we want to, not because we have to show that random guy with the big motorcycle in the block that shucks we can ride a geared 2 wheeler too.
We ride because we love to explore more roads and no-roads, because we love the adrenaline that courses through our veins as we open the throttle further with our slender gloved womanly hands.
We ride for the same reasons as you my biking brother. 

We ride to attain the kind of peace and nirvana that only a motorcycle can give. 
We had our share of pains and sorrows too that we could help heal only on a motorcycle on a long ride alone or with our biking sisters.
We ride because we were meant to, just as you were too.  

Its never a question of whether men are better riders or women are, its how we handle the bike that matters that's it.
Why we ride?
We ride for the journey not the destination so do you don't you?
We had our share of falls and breakdowns too.
We like a good meal, a smoke, a good beer and don't mind getting our hands greased while fixing our bikes, we are as different and as similar as you.
Yes, we dream motorcycles too.

No comments: